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Accountancy Two Homework

California State University Sacramento

Spring 2005 Accountancy Two

Professor Jim Mackey

Ch. 1-2 Things to Know

The role of audited financial statements for investment

Hard and soft data

The relationship of GAAP and the audit function

Different costs for different purposes

Stewardship function

Cost of Goods Sold

Cost of Goods Manufactured

Product costs

Period costs

Direct Material

Direct Labor

Manufacturing Overhead

Raw Materials inventories

Work In Process inventories

Finished Goods inventories

Economic Value

Ch3 Things to Know

Relevant range

Variable & fixed costs

Cost object or cost objective

Contribution Margin, per unit & ratio

Breakeven

Contribution Margin Statement

Level of sales needed to make a certain profit target

How many units do we need to make & sell

Pricing, changes in variable costs, changes in fixed costs

Ch4 Things to Know

The importance and uses of cash budgets

Conditions creating the need for cash budgets

Calculate cash collection patterns

Calculate production, purchases and payments

Reasons for keeping inventories

Adjustments for noncash flow expenses

How are cash budgets used for determining credit lines.\?

Balance equation

Solvency

Why do companies budget?

Things to Know Accy 2

 

Things to Know Accy 2 ch.5

 

Scientific Management planning

Job costing vs Process Costing

Absorption costing

Job costing calculations

Machine intensive, Labor intensive

MWSRQC production activity cycle

Predetermined Overhead rates POR calculation

Why do companies use PORs?

 

Chapter 6

 

Management by Exception

Flexible budgets

Cost Standards

All variable variances

Practical vs Theoretical cost standards

Product standard cost cards

ch. 7

Terms and examples of application: Sunk costs, mutually exclusive actions, incremental cash flows (relevant for this decision), Opportunity costs, and externalities

Special Order decisions

Make versus Buy decisions

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. KO1, 3, & 4: Different uses drive the types of costs measured. “The invisible hand of the market place” assumes market prices can promote efficient, value-adding management. A perfect market reveals all the information needed for purchasers to find the best prices for goods or services. But, what are the prices managers use to run a company? Consider this! The Sudbury Speedy Delivery Service purchased a new truck last year. The following information pertains to this truck:

 

Sudbury Speedy Delivery Service Truck

On the balance sheet:

 

Trucks and equipment

$100,000

Less: accumulated depreciation

(acceptable by the IRS for tax purposes)

 

- 20,000

Net book value

$80,000

Blue Book value (current market value)

$75,000

Net cashflows expected from the truck over its remaining service life

 

$240,000

Answer each of the following questions.

 

 

a. Which financial number is reported per GAAP?

 

The $80,000 net book value from the balance sheet.

 

 

b. Why doesn't the IRS use the $240,000 or $75,000 for tax purposes?

 

The IRS code is regulated by the government, requires hard numbers, and does not allow unrealized market value estimates as the basis for valuing assets and determining depreciation.

 

c. For which decision is the $75,000 relevant?

 

Deciding whether to sell the truck now, keep it, or replace it.

 

d. For which decision is the $240,000 relevant?

 

The $240,000 is the future benefit to the company from owning the truck. If the firm is considering selling the truck and not replacing it, this is relevant to that decision because it represents the future value given up and needed to somehow be replaced.

e. Why do we call net book value “hard data?”

 

The calculations are based upon verifiable, objective data. Trained professional accountants using this objective data will always produce the same numbers (truck value).

 

f. Why do we call the Blue Book value “soft data?”

 

This data represents an estimated value. It is an average value for similar trucks. It does not guarantee the truck can be sold for $75,000. Rather, it is a starting point for a sale negotiation.

g. If you own stock in Sudbury , which information do you want to use in estimating your stock's value?

concern," or you are considering liquidating the company. As a going

The answer depends on whether you consider the company to be a "going concern, you treat the company as a "cash machine," and the $240,000 is relevant. If you wish to liquidate the company, the $75,000 is more relevant.

nsider the company to be a "going concern," or you are considering liquidating the company. As a going concern, you treat the company as a "cash machine," and the $240,000 is relevant. If you wish to liquidate the company, the $75,000 is more relevant.

 

CHAPTER TWO SOLUTIONS

 

P6. KO2: Contribution margin and profit analysis. Mark Fox operates the Magic Touch cleaning service specializing in commercial office buildings. Last year, his company made 25,000 office visits at $60 per visit. His variable costs were $30 per visit and fixed costs totaled $450,000. Mark is working on next year's budget and estimates his variable costs will increase $2 per unit and fixed costs will rise by $50,000.

 

Respond to the following directive and questions.

 

a. Create an income statement for last year in the contribution margin format.

 

Data section:

 

Sales price

$60

 

Volume

25,000

 

Variable costs

$30

 

Fixed costs

$450,000

 

 

 

 

 

Solution section:

Per unit

%

Totals @ 25,000

 

Revenues

$60 )

100% )

$1,500,000 )

Less: Variable costs

(30)

(50%)

(750,000)

 

 

 

 

Contribution margin

$30 )

50% )

$750,000 )

 

 

 

 

Less: Fixed costs

 

 

(450,000)

 

 

 

 

Net income

 

 

$300,000 )

 

(continued)


b. If Mark wishes to earn the same profit as last year what will he have to charge per visit?

 

Data section:

 

Sales price

$64

 

Volume

25,000

 

Variable costs

$32

 

Fixed costs

$500,000

 

 

 

 

 

Solution section:

Per unit

%

Totals @ 25,000

 

Revenues

$64 )

100% )

$1,600,000 )

Less: Variable costs

(32)

(50%)

(800,000)

 

 

 

 

Contribution margin

$32 )

50% )

$800,000 )

 

 

 

 

Less: Fixed costs

 

 

(500,000)

 

 

 

 

Net income

 

 

$300,000 )

 

Profit

=

[( Sale price – Variable cost per unit x Volume] – Fixed costs

$300,000

=

[( Sale price – $32 per unit) x 25,000] – $500,000

Sale price

=

$64

 

c. Mark desires to maintain his current per visit price. How many visits will his company have to make to earn the same profit as last year?

 

Data section:

 

Sales price

$60

 

Volume

28,572

 

Variable costs

$32

 

Fixed costs

$500,000

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Solution section:

Per unit

%

Totals @ 28,572

 

Revenues

$60 )

100% )

$1,714,320 )

Less: Variable costs

(32)

(53%)

(914,304)

 

 

 

 

Contribution margin

$28 )

47% )

$800,016 )

 

 

 

 

Less: Fixed costs

 

 

(500,000)

 

 

 

 

Net income

 

 

$300,016 )

 

Profit

=

[( Sale price – Variable cost per unit x Volume] – Fixed costs

$300,000

=

[($60 – $32 per unit) x Volume] – $500,000

Volume

=

28,571.429 (round up to 28,572)

 

Note: The spreadsheet's goal-seeking function was used for Parts b and c. When solving for volume, a “roundup” function is needed.

 

 

P7. KO3: Building a profit equation. Your regional Internal Revenue Service estimates it can collect $1,000 on average from each audit it conducts. Variable costs are $250 per audit, and fixed costs are $15,000 per month. The IRS is not expected to make a profit from audit collections, but it is expected to cover its costs.

 

Respond to the following directives.

 

a. Write the profit equation in a format solving for profit, but do not solve the equation.

 

Profit

=

CMU

x

Volume

-

Fixed costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Profit

 

=

($1,000

-

$250)

x

Volume

-

$15,000

Profit

=

$750

x

Volume

-

$15,000

 

 

(continued)


b. Write the profit equation solving for the number of audits required.

 

Volume

=

(Fixed costs + Profit)

÷

CMU

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

=

($15,000 + $0)

÷

$750

 

 

=

20 audits per month

 

 

 

c. Write the profit equation solving for the audit collections it must make per month.

 

20 audits per month x $1,000 per audit = $20,000 per month

 

or:

 

Revenues

=

(Fixed costs + Profit)

÷

CM ratio

 

 

 

 

 

 

=

($15,000 + $0)

÷

75%

 

 

=

$20,000 per month

 

 

 

CM ratio = CMU ÷ Sales price = $750 ÷ $1,000 = 75%

 

 

 

P8. KO3: CVP analysis using the profit equation. The Flavor Burst Gum Company has the following information regarding its costs of operations:

 

Sales

$0.30 per pack

Variable costs

40% of sales

Fixed costs

$15,000

Target profit

$10,000

 


Using this information, determine the following:

 

a. Break-even revenues

 

Revenues

=

Fixed cost + Profit

 

 

 

 

CM ratio

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

=

$15,000 + $0

 

Profit = zero at break-even point

 

60% of sales

 

CM ratio = 1 – Variable cost ratio

 

 

 

 

or: CM% = Sales price – Variable cost

 

=

$25,000

 

Sales price

 

b. Break-even volume

 

Volume

=

Fixed cost + Profit

 

 

 

 

CMU

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

=

$15,000 + $0

 

CMU = Sales price – Variable cost

 

$0.18 per pack

Variable cost = $0.30 x 40% = $0.12

 

 

 

or: CMU = Sales price x CM ratio

=

83,334 packs

 

Always round up

 

c. Sales revenues to achieve target profit

 

Revenues

=

Fixed cost + Profit

 

 

 

 

CM ratio

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

=

$15,000 + $10,000

 

 

 

 

60% of sales

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

=

$41,667

 

 

 

d. Sales volume to achieve target profit

 

Volume

=

Fixed cost + Profit

 

 

 

 

CMU

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

=

$15,000 + $10,000

 

 

 

 

$0.18 per pack

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

=

138,889 packs

 

 

I 2. KO3, 4, and Chapter 2: CVP, quality, and value. Clark manufacturing makes a line of plush toys sold widely throughout the world at novelty stores and through mail-order catalogs. The design team has developed a new product called the “Doggie Plush.” It is a large life-sized, stuffed Collie dog designed to “love and hug.” Sales are projected to be 50,000 units at $45 each. Direct materials are budgeted at $15 per toy, direct labor is $10, and variable overhead is $5. Quality inspection costs are an additional $3 per dog. Fixed production costs are estimated at $200,000. Marketing has a budget of $150,000.

 

Answer the following questions.

 

a. What is Doggie Plush's projected profit?

 

Profit

=

CMU

x

Volume

-

Fixed costs

 

=

$12 per toy

x

50,000 toys

-

$350,000

 

=

$250,000

 

 

 

 

 

b. What is its break-even volume?

 

Volume

=

Fixed costs

÷

CMU

 

=

$350,000

÷

$12 per toy

 

=

29,167 toys

 

 

 

c. If sales exceed the original projection by 10%, what is the extra profit?

 

D Volume = +10% = +5,000 toys:

D Contribution margin = CMU x D Volume

= $12 per toy x +5,000 toys

= +$60,000

 

d. By using a lower quality cloth, material costs can be reduced $2 per dog. How will this change the profit projection?

 

D Variable cost = ($2): D CMU = +$2:

D Contribution margin = D CMU x Volume

= +$2 per toy x 50,000 toys

= +$100,000

 

 

(continued)


e. Not conducting quality control inspections can save $3 per dog and $20,000 per year. Using the original cloth, how will this change the profit projection?

 

D Contribution margin = D CMU x Volume

= +$3 per toy x 50,000 toys

= +$150,000

D Profit = +$150,000 + $20,000 Fixed cost saved = +$170,000

 

f. How will the changes in Parts d and e affect the company's valAue?

 

Profits this year will increase $270,000 assuming customers will still buy 50,000 dogs given the lower quality. This is a big assumption! If customers perceive Clark Manufacturing makes bad quality products, sales of other products now and in the future may suffer. Even if quality is restored sometime in the future, customers may be very slow to return.

 

 

Homework for Chapter 4 Accountancy 2

5. What is a cash budget, and why is it important?

6. What conditions create a need for cash budgeting?

12. What is a credit collection pattern and why is it important for budgeting?

15. Why do merchandisers and manufacturers keep finished goods inventories?

18. When preparing a cash budget and its schedules, why should we ignore financial accounting costs like depreciation, amortization, and income tax expense?

21. What is a line-of-credit, and why is it important?

P6. KO3: Cash collections for a service firm. Northern Gas and Electric serves 100,000 residential customers and 15,000 commercial customers. Projected revenues for next year are shown below. All bills are sent on the first day of the month (so they are for the previous month's use). Residential customers pay 60% of their bills within the month and 35% of their bills in the following month (5% are uncollectable). Commercial customers pay 50% in the month of billing and 40% in the following month (10% are uncollectable). Uncollectable accounts are sold to a private collection agency in the third month following the billing for 15% of the account balance.

 

Projected Sales (use of gas and electric)

Customers

Jan

Feb

Mar

Apr

May

June

Residential

$300,000

$260,000

$280,000

$230,000

$220,000

$225,000

Commercial

$425,000

$470,000

$500,000

$540,000

$615,000

$580,000

 

Create the following schedules. a. Create a cash collections schedule from residential customers by month for the second quarter. (Do not include uncollectable accounts sold to the collection agency.)

b. Create a cash collections schedule from commercial customers by month for the second quarter. (Do not include uncollectable accounts sold to the collection agency.)

c. Create a cash collections schedule from sales of uncollectable accounts by month for the second quarter.

 

P9. KO4: Production quota and direct materials purchases. Jan's Leather Shop makes leather purses. In order to ship purses to retailers as soon as they place orders, Jan maintains ending monthly inventories equal to 50% of the next month's projected sales. She budgets $10 in direct materials per purse. Each month's direct materials beginning inventory should be 25% of the materials needed for the production quota because she can receive deliveries weekly. All bills, including payroll, for each week are paid in the following week. Projected sales volumes are:

 

July

August

September

October

200 purses

400 purses

100 purses

100 purses

 

Respond to the following directives.

a. Calculate the production quotas for July and August and show the totals for the two months.

Formulas used:

Sales forecast given

Beginning inventory 50% of this month's sales

Ending inventory 50% of next month's sales

a.

Production Schedule

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

July

 

August

 

Totals

Production quota

Calculations

 

#

 

Calculations

 

#

 

Sales forecast

 

 

 

=

200 )

 

 

 

 

=

400 )

 

600 )

Less: beginning inventory

50%

x

200

=

(100)

 

50%

x

400

=

(200)

 

(100)

Products needed for sales

 

 

 

 

100 )

 

 

 

 

 

200 )

 

500 )

+ Ending inventory

50%

x

400

=

200 )

 

50%

x

100

=

50 )

 

50 )

Production quota (purses)

 

 

 

 

300 )

 

 

 

 

 

250 )

 

550 )

b. Determine how much will be paid for materials purchases in August.

Formulas used:

DM needed for quota This month's PQ x DM cost

Beginning DM inventory This month's DM$ x 25%

Desired ending DM inventory This month's DM x 25%

 

Production quota

 

July

 

Aug

 

Sept

Purses (from part a)*

 

300

 

250

 

100

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Direct materials needed

 

 

 

 

 

 

DM needed for quota

 

$3,000 )

 

$2,500 )

 

$1,000

 

 

@25%

 

@25%

 

Less: beginning DM inventory

 

(750)

 

(625)

 

 

Total DM needed for production

 

$2,250 )

 

$1,875 )

 

 

+ Desired ending DM inventory

 

625 )

 

250 )

 

 

Direct materials to be purchased

 

$2,875 )

 

$2,125 )

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Payment schedule

 

@25%

 

 

@75%

 

Pay ¾ this month

 

 

 

$1,594 )

 

 

Pay ¼ from last month

 

 

 

719 )

 

 

Cash-out for DM purchases

 

 

 

$2,313 )

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Note: Sept. PQ = ½ of September sales + ½ of October sales. Amounts formatted to whole dollars

  P11. KO4: Budgeting operating expenses. Financial Aids Finders, Inc. (FAF) is a for-profit service firm specializing in helping college students obtain scholarships and loans by searching computer databases and the Internet. It projects 1,000 students will apply for financial aids in January, 500 in February, and 2,000 in March. Computer search time averages $5 per student. Preparing the forms for each student averages $10, and application fees for specific scholarships and loans averages $25 per student. FAF spends $12,000 a month on salaries, another $1,000 a month on building-related costs (property taxes, utilities, insurance, etc.), and $500 in monthly operating costs. Building and equipment depreciation expense is $2,500 per month. All costs are paid in the month incurred.

Budget the monthly cash outflows for operating expenses, with totals, during the first quarter of the year.

Sales volume Jan Feb Mar Totals

Student clients 1,000 500 2,000 3,500

Expenses Variable Fixed

Computer search time $ 5

Preparing forms 10

Application fees 25

Salaries $12,000

Building costs 1,000

Operating costs 500

Operating expenses budget Jan Feb Mar Totals

Variable cost expenses

Computer search time $ 5,000 $ 2,500 $10,000 $ 17,500

Preparing forms 10,000 5,000 20,000 35,000

Application fees 25,000 12,500 50,000 87,500

Total variable cost expenses $40,000 $20,000 $80,000 $140,000

Fixed cost expenses

Salaries $12,000 $12,000 $12,000 $ 36,000

Building costs 1,000 1,000 1,000 3,000

Operating costs 500 500 500 1,500

Total fixed cost expenses $13,500 $13,500 $13,500 $ 40,500

Cash-out for operating expenses $53,500 $33,500 $93,500 $180,500

  CHAPTER FIVE

P6. KO3: POR and billing rates for a service firm. Olive Tree Garage specializes in repairing European sports cars. Next year's budget includes $25,000 for building-related costs, $30,000 for bookkeeping, and $25,000 for other miscellaneous costs. Materials are charged to each job at cost. Direct labor, including benefits, is budgeted at $25 per hour. 10,000 direct labor hours should be billable to repair customers. Alfredo, Olive Tree's owner, wishes to earn a profit of $120,000 before taxes.

Respond to the following directives and question.

a. Calculate the predetermined overhead for the year using direct labor time as the cost driver.

 

•  Building-related costs

•  $25,000

•   

•  Bookkeeping

•  30,000

•   

•  Miscellaneous costs

•  25,000

•   

•  Total overhead costs

•  $80,000

•   

•   

•   

•   

•  ÷ Direct labor hours

•  ÷ 10,000

•  direct labor hours

•  Predetermined overhead rate

•  $8

•  per direct labor hour

b. What is the hourly rate Alfredo needs to charge customers in order to earn his target profit?

 

•  Direct labor

•  $25

•  per hour

•  Overhead

•  8

•  per hour

•  Profit ($120,000 ÷ 10,000 DLhrs)

•  12

•  per hour

•  Billing rate for car repairs

•  $45

•  per hour

 

 

 

c. Why does it make sense to use direct labor hours as the cost driver for overhead and profit?

The ultimate reason for allocating overhead to products is to recover its cost through sales prices. Similarly, the only way Alfredo can receive his profit is through the rates (sales prices) he charges car repair customers. Charging overhead and profit to customers based on the number of (direct labor) hours required to repair their cars seems reasonable (from a customer's perspective), simple, and efficient.

P11. KO5: Job costing for a hospital. Scot City Trauma Center is a branch of the city hospital system. Located on the south side of town, it handles only emergency treatments. Maria broke her leg in two places during a small earthquake. The Trauma Center 's billing system uses the following activities and costs. Treatment time overhead is allocated based on the total nurse's and doctor's time treating a patient.

Calculate Maria's bill.

 

•  Activities

•  Activity costs

•  Maria's emergency

•  Cost

•  Admission

•  $50 per patient

•   

•  $50

•  Preliminary nursing evaluation

•  $25 per hour

•  0.4 hours

•  10

•  Doctor's diagnosis

•  $150 per hour

•  0.5 hours

•  75

•  X-ray

•  $50 each

•  3

•  150

•  Medical equipment
(e.g., crutches)

•  Specific to each patient

•  $100

•  100

•  Medicine/drugs

•  Specific to each patient

•  $30

•  30

•  Check out

•  $10 per patient

•   

•  10

•  Overhead-treatment time

•  $200 per patient hour

•  (0.4 + 0.5 hours)

•  180

•  Overhead-waiting time

•  $75 per patient hour

•  2 hours

•  150

•  Total treatment cost

•   

•   

•  $755

P15. KO5, 6 (Appendix): Departmental PORs in a prison. The state prison makes license plates in two departments: the Metal Shop and the Finishing Shop. The Metal Shop stamps license plates from sheet metal and is machine intensive, using machine hours to set its capacity. The Finishing Shop hand-paints the license plates and is labor intensive, using labor hours to set its capacity. Budgeted information for the prison, and actual resources used on Job 201 include:

 

Prison Budget Information

Job 201

 

Metal Shop

Finishing Shop

 

Totals

 

Resources

Metal Shop

Finishing Shop

Department costs

$96,000

$180,000

$276,000

Direct materials

$1,500

$150

 

 

 

 

Direct labor

$200

$800

Direct labor hours

8,000

12,000

20,000

Direct labor hours

10

40

Machine hours

10,000

2,000

12,000

Machine hours

20

0

Respond to the following directives.

a. Using total direct labor hours, determine the average cost of a license plate (i.e., calculate the plant-wide total overhead rate for allocating combined Metal Shop and Finishing Shop overhead to jobs).

 

•  Plantwide total overhead POR

•  = $276,000 ÷ 20,000 DLhrs

•  = $13.80 per direct labor hour

b. Using the plantwide POR, calculate the cost of Job 201.

 

Resources

Metal shop

Finishing shop

Job cost

•  Direct material

•  $1,500

•  $150

•  $1,650

•  Direct labor

•  $200

•  $800

•  1,000

•  Overhead

•  (50 direct labor hours × $13.80/DLhr )

•  690

•  Total Job 201 cost

•  $3,340

C. Calculate the PORs for each production department using their capacity measures as cost drivers.

 

•  Metal Shop POR

•  = $96,000 ÷ 10,000 machine hours

•  = $9.60 per machine hour

•   

•  Finishing Shop POR

•  = $180,000 ÷ 12,000 direct labor hours

•  = $15.00 per direct labor hour

  d. Using the departmental PORs, calculate Job 201's cost.

 

•  Resources

•  Metal Shop

•  Finishing Shop

•  Job cost

•  Direct material

•  $1,500

•  $150

•  $1,650

•  Direct labor

•  200

•  800

•  1,000

•  Metal Shop overhead

•  (20 Mhrs × $9.60/Mhr)

•   

•  192

•   

•   

•  192

•  Finishing Shop overhead

•  (40 DLhrs × $15/DLhr)

•   

•   

•  600

•   

•  600

•  Total Job 201 cost

•  $3,442

P11. KO4: Materials and labor variances for a distributor. The Cajun Hot Sauce Company is a distributor providing retailers with the ultimate experience in heated food additives. For one of its sauces, Cajun's standards budgets $1.25 per gallon to purchase the sauce from a bayou farmer. It pours the sauce into bottles provided by retailers so each bottle appears to be a unique product of each retailer. Then, the bottles are placed in cardboard cases for shipment. Each case of bottles should require 5 gallons of sauce. It should take ½ hour to pour and place the bottles in each case. The budgeted wage rate is $12 per hour. Last month Cajun produced 15,000 cases of sauce using 75,500 gallons. (It purchased 62,000 gallons for $71,300). 7,400 hours of labor were required, costing $88,800.

 

Calculate the following variances.

 

a. Sauce price variance.

b. Labor rate variance.

c. Sauce usage variance.

d. Labor efficiency variance.

 

•  Variable cost spending (price or rate) variance formula:

 

 

(Standard price

-

Actual price)

×

Qty. purchased

 

a . DM:

 

($1.25/gallon

-

$1.15/gallon)

×

62,000 gallons

=

$6,200 F

b . DL:

 

($12 per hour

-

$12/hour)

×

7,400 hours

=

$0

 

Actual prices:

Sauce = $71,300 ÷ 62,000 gallons = $1.15 per gallon

 

 

Labor = $88,800 ÷ 7,400 hours = $12 per hour

•   

•  Variable cost usage (efficiency) variance formula:

 

 

(SQA

-

Actual quantity)

×

Std. price

 

c . DM:

 

(75,000 gallons

-

75,500 gallons)

×

$1.25/gallon

=

($625) U

d . DL:

 

(7,500 hours

-

7,400 hours)

×

$12/hour

=

$1,200 F

 

SQAs:

Sauce = 5 gallons per case × 15,000 cases = 75,000 gallons

 

 

Labor = ½ hour per case × 15,000 cases = 7,500 hours

 


P12. KO4: Materials and labor variances for a city. During the summer, the city's purchasing agent ordered 600 gallons of liquid industrial cleaner at $18 per gallon for use in the city parks. She saved $2 a gallon (based on the budget) by purchasing this large quantity. The Parks and Recreation Department expects to use ½ gallon for each park cleaning, and department personnel did 800 cleanings. 430 gallons were used. 10 hours are budgeted for each park cleaning, and 7,600 hours actually were worked. The city's budget allows for a $20 per hour wage rate (including benefits), but Parks and Recreation Department workers were actually paid $22 per hour.

Calculate the following variances.

 

a. Material price variance.

b. Material use variance.

c. Labor rate variance

d. Labor efficiency variance.

 

Variable cost spending (price or rate) variance formula:

 

 

(Standard price

-

Actual price)

×

Qty. purchased

 

a . DM:

 

($20/gallon

-

$18/gallon)

×

600 gallons

=

$1,200 F

c. DL:

 

($20 per hour

-

$22/hour)

×

7,600 hours

=

($15,200) U

 

Variable cost usage (efficiency) variance formula:

 

 

(SQA

-

Actual quantity)

×

Std. price

 

b. DM:

 

(400 gallons

-

430 gallons)

×

$20/gallon

=

($600) U

 

d . DL:

 

(8,000 hours

-

7,600 hours)

×

$20/hour

=

$8,000 F

 

SQAs:

Cleaner = ½ gallon per cleaning × 800 cleanings = 400 gallons

 

 

Labor = 10 hours per cleaning × 800 cleanings = 8,000 hours

 

 

P13. KO4: Materials, labor, and overhead variances for a tailor. Cobb's Hill is a new women's tailor shop located in the recently renovated downtown area of Whitewater , Canada . While many clothes are purchased from high quality manufacturers and sold off the racks, Cobb's Hill is primarily known for its custom tailored suits. Standards for a woman's suit are:

 


 

 

Standard price

Standard quantity

Standard cost

Cloth

$20.20/yard

2.3 yards per suit

$46.46 per suit

Seamstress labor

$11.90/hour

5.5 hours per suit

65.45 per suit

Variable overhead

$5.00 per sewing hour

2 machine hours/suit

10.00 per suit

Standard suit manufacturing cost

 

$121.91 per suit

 

Of the 5.5 seamstress hours budgeted per suit, 2 hours is allowed for sewing. Variable overhead is allocated based on sewing machine time. In Canada , fixed overhead is not required to be included in a product's cost for financial reporting. Thus, Cobb's Hill does not include a fixed overhead allocation in the suit's standard cost. Annual fixed overhead is budgeted at $100,000. Actual fixed overhead was $95,000.

Other actual information includes 330 yards of cloth purchased and used at $20 per yard. While some cloth always is left over when making a suit, it is not usable on other suits and is scrapped. For the 150 suits made, 800 seamstress hours were worked at a total cost of $9,200. Included in the 800 hours was 320 hours of sewing machine time. Actual variable overhead cost was $1,568.

Calculate the following cost variances.

 

a. Total variance from target profit due to materials.

b. Total variance from target profit due to direct labor.

c. Total variance from target profit due to variable overhead.

d. Direct materials price variance.

e. Labor rate variance.

f. Variable overhead spending variance.

g. Direct materials usage variance.

h. Labor usage variance.

i. Variable overhead usage variance.

j. Fixed overhead spending variance.

 

Total variances from target profit:

 

 

Flexible budget costs

(Standard cost × Actual output)

-

Actual costs

=

Total cost variance

a . DM:

 

$46.46 per suit × 150 suits = $6,969.00

-

$6,600

=

$369.00

F

b . DL:

 

$65.45 per suit × 150 suits = $9,817.50

-

9,200

=

$617.50

F

c . VOH:

$10.00 per suit × 150 suits = $1,500.00

-

1,568

=

($68.00)

U

 

(continued)


Variable cost spending (price or rate) variance formula:

 

 

(Standard price

-

Actual price)

×

Qty. purchased

 

d . DM:

 

($20.20/yard

-

$20.00/yard)

×

330 yards

=

$66 F

e . DL:

 

($11.90/hour

-

$11.50/hour)

×

800 hours

=

$320 F

f . VOH:

 

($5/machine hr

-

$4.90/Mhr)

×

320 Mhrs

=

$32 F

 

Actual prices:

Labor = $9,200 ÷ 800 hours = $11.50 per hour

 

 

VOH = $1,568 ÷ 320 machine hours = $4.90/Machine hr

 

Variable cost usage (efficiency) variance formula:

 

 

(SQA

-

Actual quantity)

×

Std. price

 

g . DM:

 

(345 yards

-

330 yards)

×

$20.20/yard

=

$303 F

h . DL:

 

(825 hours

-

800 hours)

×

$11.90/hour

=

$297.50 F

i . VOH:

 

(300 Mhrs

-

320 hours)

×

$5/Mhr

=

($100) U

 

SQAs:

DM = 2.3 yards × 150 suits = 345 yards

 

 

DL = 5.5 hours per suit × 150 suits = 825 hours

 

 

VOH = 2 machine hours per suit × 150 suits = 300 Mhrs

 

j. Fixed overhead spending variance:

$100,000 budgeted fixed overhead cost - $95,000 actual cost = $5,000 F

CHAPTER 7

P2. LO2. Incremental CVP to determine special sale price. Captain Pete is considering offering whale-watching trips to supplement his fishing income with weekend charters. Pete's daughter and first mate, Silvia, is examining the estimated costs for one day of operations. Captain Pete, with the help of his accountant, has put together the following cost information from last year's operations.

 

Crew costs (5@ $10 per hour for 5 hours)

$250

Fuel

120

Daily docking reservation rental fee rate at commercial pier

100

Daily rate for common carrier excursion insurance required

150

Fixed overhead ($216,000 / 360 days)

600

Depreciation of boat and equipment ($108,000 / 360 days)

300

Newspaper ad to attract customers

80

 

Respond to the following directives and questions.

 

a. Using these costs, what is the breakeven ticket price if 40 people take the whale-watching cruise?

 

Total costs $1,600/40 passengers = $40 per passenger.

 

(continued)

b. Captain Pete's daughter believes the ticket price is too high. In college, she learned that only relevant costs should be included in incremental pricing decisions. Remove the nonrelevant costs and recalculate the breakeven ticket price for 40 people.

 

The information contains two nonrelevant cost items. The fixed overhead and the depreciation are not relevant to this decision since they are already accounted for through the fishing operations. The remaining incremental costs total $700 / 40 passengers = $17.50 per passenger.

 

c. If whale watchers are willing to pay $25 for an afternoon cruise, what is the minimum number of passengers necessary to break even.

 

$700 / $25 per passenger = 28 passengers

 

d. By how much will Captain Pete increase his annual profits for each excursion that carries 40 passengers for a ticket price of $30 cash?

 

$30 ´ 40 passengers = $1,200. $1,200 – $700 = $500

 

 

P3. LO2: Incremental CVP to determine special sales price. The Coopers Guild manufactures high quality handmade wooden buckets with a retail sale price of $25 per unit. The Guild's costs per unit based on annual sales of 100,000 units are: direct materials - $6, direct labor - $7, variable overhead - $2, and fixed overhead - $5. The Guild has just received a special order of 10,000 units which is within the current capacity of production. Selling cost per unit for the special order will be $2 per unit.

 

Respond to the following questions and directives.

 

a. What is the incremental breakeven cost per unit?

 

Breakeven price per unit:

 

Direct materials $ 6

Direct labor 7

Variable overhead 2

Selling cost 2

$ 17

 

b. The profit margin on sales is $5. What selling price per unit on the special order will be acceptable if the Guild wishes to maintain per unit profitability?

 

Currently, $25 sale price less $20 = $5 per unit. Minimum necessary $17 + $5 = $22 per unit.

c. Describe any externalities that might lead the company to not accept the minimum price from part b.

 

If there is no difference in profitability the company may reject the order to keep current customers happy. These customers may not react favorably to the knowledge that despite circumstances others receive a better price break from the company.

 

d. What would the special order sales price be if the company desires to make $45,000 profit on the special order?

 

$45,000 / 10,000 units = $4.50 per unit. $17 cost + $4.50 = $21.50 per unit.

 

 

P14. LO5: Make-or-buy decisions. The Microtool Company manufactures 15,000 units of a part needed in a subassembly of its main product line. The following cost data was assembled relating to the part.

 

Materials

$ 50,000

Direct labor

90,000

Variable overhead

85,000

Fixed overhead

150,000

Total costs

$375,000

 

Zip Systems is a local supplier of similar parts and offers to supply the part for $23 per unit. Microtool estimates that if the company purchases the part, fixed overhead will be reduced by $90,000.

 

Answer the following questions.

 

a. Given the information above should Microtool accept the offer?

 

No. The company now produces the part for $25 per unit (total costs $375,000/ 15,000 units). Total costs if purchased would be $27 per unit. $23 per unit from Zip Systems + $4 per unit of unavoidable fixed costs [(Total fixed costs $150,000 – avoidable fixed costs $90,000) / 15,000 units]

 

b. What is the most that Microtool would be willing to pay per unit?

 

Since it now costs $25 per unit to product the part internally and they can not avoid $4 per unit of fixed costs ($60,000 / 15,000 units), the most they would pay is $21 per unit.

 

c. If Microtool could avoid all the fixed costs by purchasing from Zip Systems, how much would profitability increase?

 

($25 - $23 = $2 per unit ) ´ 15,000 units = $30,000 increase in profitability.

CHAPTER 8

  P7. KO4: Segmented income statements and product line profitability. Custom Castings has two operating divisions, Decorative Castings and Commercial Castings. Last year's information on each division's direct costs and revenues includes:

 

 

Decorative Castings

Commercial Castings

Revenues

$1,300,000

$2,400,000

Direct materials

450,000

830,000

Direct Labor

325,000

570,000

Indirect Labor

50,000

140,000

Power

20,000

35,000

Sales commissions

25,000

40,000

Advertising

50,000

100,000

Engineering costs

10,000

40,000

Supervision

100,000

175,000

 

The company also had common fixed costs: $110,000 in depreciation, $30,000 in heat and light, and $160,000 in administrative costs.

 

Answer the following questions.

 

a. What is the contribution margin for Decorative Castings?

b. What is the product line margin for Decorative Castings?

c. What is the contribution margin for Commercial Castings?

d. What is the product line margin for Commercial Castings?

e. What is the net income for the company?


 

 

Decorative Castings

 

Commercial Castings

 

Totals

Revenues

$1,300,000 )

 

$2,400,000 )

 

$3,700,000 )

Less: variable costs

 

 

 

 

 

Direct materials

450,000 )

 

830,000 )

 

1,280,000 )

Direct labor

325,000 )

 

570,000 )

 

895,000 )

Indirect labor

50,000 )

 

140,000 )

 

190,000 )

Power

20,000 )

 

35,000 )

 

55,000 )

Sales Commissions

25,000 )

 

40,000 )

 

65,000 )

Totals

(870,000)

 

(1,615,000)

 

(2,485,000)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contribution margin

$430,000 )

 

$785,000 )

 

$1,215,000 )

 

(a)

 

(c)

 

 

Less: direct fixed costs

 

 

 

 

 

Advertising

50,000 )

 

100,000 )

 

150,000 )

Engineering

10,000 )

 

40,000 )

 

50,000 )

Supervision

100,000 )

 

175,000 )

 

275,000 )

Totals

(160,000)

 

(315,000)

 

(475,000)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Product line margin

$270,000 )

 

$470,000 )

 

$740,000 )

 

(b)

 

(d)

 

 

Less: common fixed costs

 

 

 

 

 

Depreciation

 

 

 

 

110,000 )

Heat & Light

 

 

 

 

30,000 )

Administration

 

 

 

 

160,000 )

Total

 

 

 

 

(300,000)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Net income

 

 

 

 

$440,000 )

 

 

 

 

 

(e)

 


P8. KO4: Product line profitability for a distributor. Security Concepts sells and installs two product lines in the commercial security market. The Reporter is designed to passively watch and notify security and police in an emergency. The Terminator contains active deterrents and restraints. Each line has its own advertising, technical support and supervisors. Building and administrative costs are allocated using relative sales revenues. Last year's information includes:

 

 

Reporter

Terminator

Sales volume

1,000

100

Revenues

$2,500,000

$3,600,000

Security devices

600,000

1,100,000

Installation labor

675,000

825,000

Support labor

75,000

50,000

Vehicle costs (based on miles driven)

100,000

140,000

Sales commissions

300,000

370,000

Advertising

200,000

250,000

Technical costs

40,000

60,000

Supervision

70,000

110,000

Building depreciation

24,590

35,410

Heat and light

10,246

14,754

Administration

30,738

44,262

 

Answer the following questions.

 

a. What are the CMU, CM ratio, and contribution margin for the Reporter?

b. What is the product line margin for the Reporter?

c. What are the CMU, CM ratio, and contribution margin for the Terminator?

d. What is the product line margin for the Terminator?

e. What is the net income for Security Concepts?



P9. KO4: Segmented income statements and performance evaluation for a CPA firm. Buck and Buck, CPAs, employs CPAs for its tax division and CMAs for its management consulting practice. Both services are supported by research personnel and administrative personnel who trace their time directly to each job. Computer equipment and on-line search fees are controllable direct fixed costs. Each service line has its own supervision. Insurance, office costs, and administrative expenses are allocated. Information about each service line includes:

 

 

Consulting

Tax

Revenues

$10,000,000

$8,000,000

Professional labor

5,500,000

3,900,000

Research labor

1,600,000

1,200,000

Administrative labor

500,000

350,000

Copying

300,000

400,000

Equipment

250,000

160,000

Search fees

60,000

80,000

Supervision

240,000

200,000

Insurance

300,000

200,000

Office

250,000

300,000

Administration

100,000

150,000

 

Respond to the following directive and question.

 

a. Prepare a segmented income statement for Buck and Buck, identifying the controllable segment margins for each service line.

 

Solution is on next page.

 

b. Why do you think Buck and Buck does not include a “per unit” column in each segment?

 

Each consulting and tax engagement probably is unique, much like jobs in a manufacturer's job shop. Therefore, each client has unique needs, costs, and revenues. Reporting a “per unit” column would require averaging the total revenues and costs for each segment over the client volume. Because each job is unique, Buck and Buck management probably does not believe average “per unit” information is meaningful.

 



P10. KO5: Return on investment and residual income. Grimaldi General Contractors has two divisions, Commercial Construction and Apartment Construction. The company uses a cost of capital of 10%. Information about each division and the company includes:

 

 

Commercial

Apartment

Grimaldi

Sales

$4,000,000

$6,000,000

$10,000,000

Segment investment

2,000,000

3,500,000

5,500,000

Company investment

 

 

500,000

Variable costs

1,500,000

2,500,000

4,000,000

Segment fixed costs

2,000,000

2,500,000

4,500,000

Common fixed costs

 

 

500,000

 

Respond to the following directives.

 

a. Calculate the ROI and RI for Commercial Construction.

 

Segment margin = Sales - Variable costs - Fixed costs

 

$500,000 = $4,000,000 - $1,500,000 - $2,000,000

 

Return on Investment

=

Profit

Investment

 

25%

=

$500,000

$2,000,000

 

Residual Income = Investment x (ROI - Cost of Capital)

 

$300,000 = $2,000,000 x (25% - 10%)

 

b. Calculate the ROI and RI for Apartment Construction.

 

Segment margin = Sales - Variable costs - Fixed costs

 

$1,000,000 = $6,000,000 - $2,500,000 - $2,500,000

 

Return on Investment

=

Profit

Investment

 

28.6%

=

$1,000,000

$3,500,000

Residual Income = Investment x (ROI - Cost of Capital)

 

$651,000 = $3,500,000 x (28.6% - 10%)

 

c. Calculate the ROI and RI for the Company.

 

Net income = Sales - Variable costs - Segment fixed costs - Common fixed costs

 

$1,000,000 = $10,000,000 - $4,000,000 - $4,500,000 - $500,000

 

Return on Investment

=

Profit

Investment

 

 

 

16.7%

=

$1,000,000

$6,000,000

 

Residual Income = Investment x (ROI - Cost of Capital)

 

$402,000 = $6,000,000 x (16.7% - 10%)

 

 

P11. KO5: ROI and residual income for a retailer. Tiny Tot Toys has three departments within its retail store: Micro Tots, Tiny Tots, and Toddlers. Each is considered to be an investment center. The company has asked you to evaluate the performance of the divisions using ROI and RI. The company wants a 12% return on investment from each department. Round percentage calculations to one decimal place.

 

 

Micro Tots

Tiny Tots

Toddlers

Sales

$800,000

$1,800,000

$1,400,000

Segment investment

300,000

1,000,000

700,000

Variable costs

600,000

1,200,000

1,200,000

Segment fixed costs

150,000

400,000

150,000

 

(continued)


Respond to the following directives and question.

 

a. Calculate the ROI and RI for Micro Tots.

 

Segment margin = Sales - Variable costs - Fixed costs

 

$50,000 = $800,000 - $600,000 - $150,000

 

Return on Investment

=

Profit

Investment

 

16.7%

=

$50,000

$300,000

 

Residual Income = Investment x (ROI - Cost of Capital)

 

$14,100 = $300,000 x (16.7% - 12%)

 

b. Calculate the ROI and RI for Tiny Tots.

 

Segment margin = Sales - Variable costs - Fixed costs

 

$200,000 = $1,800,000 - $1,200,000 - $400,000

 

Return on Investment

=

Profit

Investment

 

20%

=

$200,000

$1,000,000

 

Residual Income = Investment x (ROI - Cost of Capital)

 

$80,000 = $1,000,000 x (20% - 12%)

 

c. Calculate the ROI and RI for Toddlers.

 

Segment margin = Sales - Variable expenses - fixed expenses

 

$50,000 = $1,400,000 - $1,200,000 - $150,000

Return on Investment

=

Profit

Investment

 

7.1%

=

$50,000

$700,000

 

Residual Income = Investment x (ROI - Cost of Capital)

 

($34,300) = $700,000 x (7.1% - 12%)

 

d. Should the Toddler department be closed and the space used to expand Micro Tots and Tiny Tots?

 

YES: It is returning only 7.1%, but the minimum acceptable rate of return is 12%.

NO: We don't know if having Toddler toys increases the sales in the other departments. While expanding other departments into this space should increase revenues, costs will also increase. There is no guarantee that the same profit margins and ROIs can be maintained with the new larger space.

 

 

P12. KO5: Profit margin and asset turnover ratios. Idaho 's state agencies are treated as investment centers and evaluated with ROI. To create “revenues” for each agency, transfer prices are determined annually based on agency budgets and required rates of return. Water Resources Maintenance (WRM) provides electric motor and electric pump maintenance to the water purification plants throughout the state. Each service also is treated as an investment center.

 

Using the following information, calculate the profit margin, asset turnover ratio, and ROI for each service and for WRM.

 

 

Motors

Pumps

WRM

Revenues

$2,000,000

$5,500,000

$7,500,000

Segment investments

1,000,000

3,000,000

 

Variable costs

1,000,000

2,500,000

 

Segment fixed costs

750,000

2,000,000

 

WRM common fixed costs

 

 

250,000

WRM common assets

 

 

1,250,000

 

 


 

ROI =

Profit

=

Segment margin

x

Segment sales

 

Investment

Segment sales

Segment assets

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Motors:

 

Profit margin

 

Asset turnover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ROI =

$250,000

=

$250,000

x

$2,000,000

 

$1,000,000

$2,000,000

$1,000,000

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ROI =

25.0%

=

12.5%

x

2.0 times

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pumps:

 

Profit margin

 

Asset turnover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ROI =

$1,000,000

=

$1,000,000

x

$5,500,000

 

$3,000,000

$5,500,000

$3,000,000

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ROI =

33.3%

=

18.2%

x

1.8 times

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WRM in total:

 

Profit margin

 

Asset turnover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ROI =

$1,000,000

=

$1,000,000

x

$7,500,000

 

$5,250,000

$7,500,000

$5,250,000

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ROI =

19.0%

=

13.3%

x

1.4 times

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Things to Know for Chapter 9 & 10

 

Chapter 9 Understand traditional volume-based cost allocations and activity-based costs.

 

Characteristics of providing goods and services that increase or decrease the need for ABC to improve product line costing.

 

Calculate cost driver rates.

 

Calculate product costs using ABC and traditional volume-based cost drivers.

 

Calculate a cost-plus price using ABC and traditional volume-based cost drivers.

 

Chapter 10. How does ABC support value chain management.

Define a value chain, strategic partnering, core competency, and customer profitability analysis.

How is ABC used in a differentiation strategy.

 

Calculate strategic partnering savings.

Calculate the VPI, order filling and delivery ratios..

 

 

Chapter Nine

 

 

P3. KO2, 3: Comparing traditional and ABC cost allocations in a law firm. Legal Hounds has 3 support activities: investigation, legal research, and courtroom support. Historically, these activities have been considered as overhead and allocated based on trial attorney courtroom hours. Legal Hounds wants to make these activities billable directly to each client because clients use different amounts of each support activity. Your CPA firm has been retained to investigate whether activity-based costing can provide more accurate charges for billing Legal Hounds' clients. As a CMA, you are assigned management consulting clients. Legal Hounds budget information for next year includes:

 

(continued)

Support activities

Resource costs

Activity volumes

Investigation

$150,000

5,000 investigation hours

Legal research

$450,000

9,000 research hours

Courtroom support

$600,000

6,000 courtroom hours

 

Respond to the following directives and questions.

 

a. Determine the rate Legal Hounds has been using to bill these support activities.

 

Overhead resource costs total $1,200,000. Dividing this by 6,000 courtroom hours creates a $200 per courtroom hour POR.

 

b. Why is this allocation method similar to how manufacturers historically have allocated production overhead using direct labor hours?

 

Trial attorney time (courtroom hours) is traced directly and billed to each client. This is just like a manufacturer directly tracing labor to a job. Because direct labor is assigned to each job, using it as the overhead cost driver provides a way to allocate overhead to each job. Calculating an average support activity cost per courtroom hour similarly allows these costs to be allocated to each client.

 

c. Calculate the ABC cost driver rates for each activity.

 

Investigation

$150,000 ÷ 5,000 hours =

$30 per investigation hour

Legal research

$450,000 ÷ 9,000 hours =

$50 per research hour

Courtroom support

$600,000 ÷ 6,000 hours =

$100 per court hour

 

d. Why can Legal Hounds be thought of as a manufacturer?

 

Manufacturers transform inputs into outputs. Legal Hounds' “product” is a specific legal service for a client. In providing legal services, it takes resources (inputs) and uses (transforms) them to make its product. Because each client requires a unique legal service, a client is similar to a manufacturer's job. Legal Hounds is a “system,” and all systems transform inputs into outputs. Therefore, all systems, including Legal Hounds, are basically manufacturing processes.


e. As a manufacturer, do Legal Hounds' production characteristics justify ABC?

 

Investigation, legal research, and courtroom support currently are treated as overhead. Indirect production costs are not traced directly to each job-client. These are significant costs of the legal firm. Referring to Exhibit 9-4, Legal Hounds produces multiple products (serves many clients with unique needs). Each product (client) uses different overhead activities (support services), and/or uses the same activities but in different amounts.

 

P8. KO4: Allocating batch-level costs. Briteglow Paints is a commercial wholesaler that makes specialty paints for painting companies. It purchases paint from manufacturers and mixes it to order. Each order incurs three batch-level costs: materials ordering, quality control, and setups. These costs are included in overhead, which is allocated using machine time (10,000 machine hours are budgeted for the year). Budget information for these costs includes:

 

 

The Funtime job is for 100 gallons. It will require 3 machine hours of run time, 2 material orders, 6 inspections, and 4 setups.

 

Respond to the following directives and question.

 

a. Determine the total overhead POR based on machine time, the overhead allocated to this batch, and the average overhead cost per gallon.

 

Batch-level activities

 

Resource costs

 

Ordering

 

$120,000

 

Quality control

 

180,000

 

Setups

 

100,000

 

Sum

 

$400,000

 

 

 

 

 

÷ Machine hours

÷

10,000

machine hours

POR

 

$40

per machine hour

 

 

 

 

x Machine hours per batch

x

3

machine hours

Overhead cost per batch

 

$120

 

 

 

 

 

Average cost per gallon

 

$1.20

(continued)

b. Calculate the cost driver rates for each batch-level cost.

 

Batch-level activities

Resource costs

 

Cost driver volumes

 

Cost driver rates

Ordering

$120,000

÷

12,000 orders

=

$10 per order

Quality control

$180,000

÷

30,000 inspections

=

$6 per inspection

Setups

$100,000

÷

5,000 setups

=

$20 per setup

 

c. What is the batch-level cost for the Funtime job, and the average batch-level cost per gallon?

 

Cost driver rates

 

Cost driver volumes

 

Batch costs

$10 per order

x

2 orders

=

$20

$6 per inspection

x

6 inspections

=

36

$20 per setup

x

4 setups

=

80

Batch costs for Funtime job:

 

$136

 

 

 

 

 

Average cost per gallon

 

$1.36

 

 

P11. KO5: ABC-based billing rates for a law firm. Refer to the information in problem 3. Legal Hounds has been engaged by a disgruntled college student to sue the university over a computer use fee for a course that did not involve any computer usage. This case required 50 hours of investigation time, 30 hours of legal research time, and 20 hours of in-court trial time. Legal Hounds billing rate for trial lawyers is $500 per hour. A 50% markup on total client cost is added to the client's bill for general company overhead and profit. The student eventually won the case. The judge ordered the university to pay all legal costs. The university argued a traditional overhead allocation method should be used based on in-court trial time. You have been retained as an expert witness by Legal Hounds to present the ABC-based cost of this case.

 

Calculate Legal Hounds bill to the university using its traditional overhead allocation method and the ABC method. (Traditional = $21,000, and ABC = $22,500.)

 

a. Billing using a traditional allocation method based on trial lawyer time

 

Trial lawyer charge

$500

per hour

x

20

hours

=

$10,000

Overhead

$200

per hour

x

20

hours

=

4,000

Case cost

 

 

 

 

 

 

$14,000

+ Markup

@ 50% of total cost

=

7,000

 

Legal Hounds billing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

$21,000

 

b. Billing using ABC

 

Trial lawyer charge

$500

per hour

x

20

hours

=

$10,000

Investigation

$30

per hour

x

50

hours

=

1,500

Legal research

$50

per hour

x

30

hours

=

1,500

Courtroom support

$100

per hour

x

20

hours

=

2,000

Case cost

 

 

 

 

 

 

$15,000

+ Markup

@ 50% of total cost

=

7,500

 

Legal Hounds billing

 

 

 

 

 

 

$22,500

 

 

Chapter Ten

 

P2. KO1 and 2: Strategic partnering and ABC analysis. The Chocolate Store makes a mixture of boxed and specialty chocolates. Sales have grown dramatically, but so have costs. On a trip to France , one of the partners, Cherrie Lau, visited several chocolate factories. While there, she discussed her business with several owners. One of them, Jean Pierre, made an interesting offer. His factory has excess capacity and since sales to the Chocolate Store will not affect his domestic sales, he can offer her a $5.20 special price on 1-pound blocks, packaged and delivered to the Chocolate Store's plant.

 

Chocolate Store Activity Costs

Activities

Cost drivers

Cost

Receiving and unloading

number of shipments

$0.05

Breakdown

number of boxes

.15

Melt

pounds of chocolate

1.10

Pouring

number of pours

.90

Storage

number of trays of chocolate

.10

Packing

number of boxes

.30

Average processing cost per pound

$2.60

Purchase price from High Quality Chocolate Company

6.15

Total cost per pound

 

$8.75

 

High Quality Activity Costs

Activities

Cost driver

Cost

Receiving and unloading

number of shipments

$1.00

Mix

direct labor hours

.50

Melt

pounds of chocolate

.70

Pouring

number of chocolate blocks

1.00

Packing

number of boxes

.35

Shipping

number of truckloads

.10

Total processing costs

 

$3.65

Raw chocolate purchase price

2.00

Profit

.50

Sales price to the Chocolate Store

 

$6.15

 

Desperate to keep the business, a memorandum is sent out to all managers for suggestions to reduce costs. A young engineer suggests a new service being offered by UPS, heated liquid trucking. UPS will pick up the melted chocolate mix and deliver to the Chocolate Company in a ready-to-pour form. Unfortunately, this service costs $1.60 a pound which increases, not decreases, High Quality's production costs. Is all lost?

 

a. How can the French, with high labor costs and identical production facilities, afford to sell chocolate for $5.20 per pound to the Chocolate Store?

 

It appear the French factory is using an incremental pricing policy (see Chapter 7) on this special order in order to use some of its surplus capacity.

 


P2 (continued).

 

b. Using value chain analysis to identify and eliminate redundant activities, calculate the total cost per pound using UPS's new service. Can High Quality keep the Chocolate Store as a customer?

 

 

Strategic Partnering Analysis

High Quality Chocolate Co.

Cost

Raw material

$2.00

Receiving & unloading

1.00

Mix

.50

Melt

.70

Transportation

1.60

Total cost for High Quality

$5.80

Profit

.50

Sales price to the Chocolate Store

$6.30

 

 

The Chocolate Store

 

Purchase cost from High Quality

$6.30

Pour

.90

Store

.10

Pack

.30

Strategic partnering total cost

$7.60

 

 

 

High Quality can maintain its $0.50 per pound profit and reduce the price to $0.20 below the French bid! (Total cost to the Chocolate Store is $5.20 French purchase price + $2.60 in normal processing costs = $7.80 per pound ).

 

 

c. From the information provided, identify each company's core competencies. Explain your answers.

 

•  The idea: An activity is not a core competency if it can be eliminated!

•  High Quality Chocolate Company: Since the last three activities have been eliminated, the first two (mix and melt) must be its core competencies.

•  Chocolate Store: Since its first three activities have been eliminated, the last three (pour, store, and pack) must be its core competencies.

 

(See the value chains on the next two pages.)



P4. KO2: Vendor performance index. Malcolm Ridgeway, management accountant at Bell Computers, is concerned about the company's traditional methods of evaluating supplier relationships. “To achieve world-class status, we must build and maintain long-term partnerships with a small group of vendors offering the best overall value.”

Melissa Alexander, the purchasing agent responds, “Nortec supplies us with circuit boards at $20.00 per board. It continues to be our lowest cost supplier. I've managed to beat my purchasing budget every year by using Nortec, resulting in favorable purchase variances.”

“That's true,” replies Malcolm. “But I've been doing an ABC analysis and discovered Nortec's purchase price is only part of the costs caused by its circuit boards. Remember when we had to reject all those boards last month? We had to place a rush order with Quality Technologies costing $80.00 a board.”

“Yes, I remember. Manufacturing loved them! What nonvalue-adding costs have we been experiencing with these suppliers?”

Malcolm provides the following nonvalue-adding costs for each supplier from last month:

 

Activities

Nortec Board

Quality Technologies

Inspection and testing

$1,400

 

$40

 

Paperwork

600

 

20

 

Reworking

1,600

 

0

 

Materials received too early

1,400

 

0

 

Materials received too late

1,400

 

0

 

Excess materials

1,200

 

0

 

Short materials

1,200

 

0

 

Warehousing and handling

800

 

100

 

Total nonvalue-adding costs per board

$9,600

 

$160

 

 

 

 

 

 

Boards purchased

100

 

20

 

Respond to the following directives and question.

 

a. Calculate Nortec's VPI.

 

Purchase cost = $20 per board x 100 boards = $2,000

 

•   

•  VPI

•   

•  =

•   

•  Materials purchase cost + Nonvalue-adding costs

•  Materials purchase cost

•   

•   

•   

•  5.8

•  =

•  $2,000 + $9,600

•  $2,000

•   

 

b. What is Quality Technologies' VPI?

 

Purchase cost = $80 per board x 20 boards = $1,600

 

•  VPI

•  =

•  1.1

•  =

•  $1,600 + $160

•  $1,600

 

c. Use the VPI's to compare the average cost per board for Nortec and Quality Technologies.

 

•   

•  Nortec

•  Quality Technologies

•  Purchase price per board

•  $ 20

•  $80

•   

•  × VPI

•  × 5.8

•  × 1.1

•   

•  Average total cost per board

•  $116

•  $88

•   

 

 

P5. KO2: Merchandiser's vendor performance measures. Best Values is a regional retail chain of men's clothing stores located in the northeastern United States . Men's shirts are purchased from 3 manufacturers: Woodsman Apparel, Sharp Dressers, and Casualwear. Information on last month's delivery performance includes:

 

 

 

Suppliers

 

Total deliveries

 

Deliveries on-time

Complete orders received

Woodsman Apparel

10

5

9

Sharp Dressers

8

6

4

Casualwear

5

3

2

 

Woodsman Apparel delivered one day early three times and one day late twice. Sharp Dressers delivered five days late once and four days late once. Casualwear delivered three days late once and two days late once.

 

Respond to the following directives.

 

a. Calculate on-time delivery and complete order filling ratios for each supplier.

 

 

b. Graph the delivery distributions for late and early deliveries.

 


c. Comment on the quality of each supplier's delivery performance and rank each one from best to worst.

 

• We believe on-time delivery and complete order filling ratios are equally important because they affect a firm's ability to provide its product or service in a timely manner to its customers. Not achieving this customer objective can result in lost sales now and in the future.

• However, missing customer delivery dates can be minimized by maintaining raw materials, work-in-process, and finished goods inventories. The amount of each inventory, and the costs to maintain it, depend on how early or late supplier deliveries are. Therefore, graphing days early/late may be the most important of the three ABM measures.

• Ranking suppliers from best to worst (a subjective evaluation):

 

Overall

 

On-time

Complete

Days

Rank

Supplier

Ratio

Rank

Ratio

Rank

early/late

•  1

•  Woodsman Apparel

•  50%

•  3rd

•  90%

•  1st

•  1st

•  2

•  Casualwear

•  60%

•  2nd

•  40%

•  3rd

•  2nd

•  3

•  Sharp Dressers

•  75%

•  1st

•  50%

•  2nd

•  3rd

 

P9. KO3: Snake chart for Sunnyside's bus system. Sunnyside is a unique city in many ways. Because of the vast expanses of land required by the major entertainment companies for their amusement parks, using the bus system to get to work can be difficult and time consuming. Assume the city has just received a matching grant from the federal government for modernization and upgrades to its bus system. To prioritize its improvement projects, Sunnyside conducted a customer survey with the following results:

 

Based on the above information, prepare a snake chart comparing customer importance ratings and the bus service performance ratings. Comment on each attribute's priority for the improvement projects.

 

Priorities:

1. New buses rated 9 in importance, but only 5 in performance.

2. Waiting time rated 7 in importance, but only 2 in performance.

 

Not critical:

• Weekend service is the most important factor to bus riders (10 rating). However, the city is doing an excellent job (9 rating). Therefore, other higher priorities exist.

• Number of routes is fairly important (6 rating), and the city is doing very well in providing service to all areas (8 rating).

• Bus fare is rated the lowest in importance (3) and the city is doing OK (performance rating = 7).

 

 


 

P3. KO2: Classifying quality costs. Maria's Import Company is a purveyor of custom Mexican and South American pottery for discriminating customers.

 

Classify each of the following quality activities according to the quality costs each creates.

•  Activity

•  Prevention

•  Appraisal

•  Internal failure

•  External failure

•  Incoming inspection

•   

•  ü

•   

•   

•  Warranty repairs

•   

•   

•   

•  ü

•  Goods returned

•   

•   

•   

•  ü

•  Quality training (for inspection)

•  ü

•   

•   

•   

•  Settlement of product liability suit

•   

•   

•   

•  ü

•  Packaging inspection for shipment

•   

•  ü

•   

•   

•  Receiving complaints

•   

•   

•   

•  ü

•  Repairing damaged merchandise after incoming inspection

•   

•   

•  ü

•   

•  Product replacement

•   

•   

•   

•  ü

•  Lost sales

•   

•   

•   

•  ü

•  Quality improvement projects

•  ü

•   

•   

•   

•  Re-inspection of rework

•   

•   

•  ü

•   

 

 

P4. KO2: Classifying quality costs and recommending changes. Lormis Enterprises is a software development company. Believing its overall costs of quality can be reduced by increasing expenditures in certain key COQ categories, a 2nd generation ABC system was created, with the following costs accumulated for the year:

 

Activity

Cost

Activity

Cost

•  Rework

$24,000

•  Customer product replacements

$10,000

•  Supervision of testing activities

15,000

•  Retesting rework

4,000

•  Recalls

12,000

•  Product liability insurance

11,000

•  Scrapping defective materials

8,000

•  Quality audits

6,000

•  Training

14,000

•  Continuous improvement

1,000

•  Inspection of work-in-process

20,000

•  Warranty repairs

13,000

•  Reengineering efforts

8,000

•  Testing incoming materials

8,000

 

Respond to the following directive and question.

 

 

(continued)


a. Determine the total dollars being spent on each costs-of-quality category.

 

•  Activity

•  Prevention

•  Appraisal

•  Internal failure

•  External failure

•  Rework

•   

•   

•  $24,000

•   

•  Supervision of testing activities

•   

•  $15,000

•   

•   

•  Recalls

•   

•   

•   

•  $12,000

•  Scrapping defective materials*

•   

•   

•  8,000

•   

•  Training

•  $14,000

•   

•   

•   

•  Inspection of work-in-process

•   

•  20,000

•   

•   

•  Reengineering efforts

•  8,000

•   

•   

•   

•  Customer product replacements

•   

•   

•   

•  10,000

•  Retesting rework*

•   

•   

•  4,000

•   

•  Product liability insurance

•   

•   

•   

•  11,000

•  Quality audits*

•   

•  6,000

•   

•   

•  Continuous improvement

•  1,000

•   

•   

•   

•  Warranty repairs

•   

•   

•   

•  13,000

•  Testing incoming materials

•   

•  8,000

•   

•   

•  Totals by COQ category

•  $23,000

•  $49,000

•  $36,000

•  $46,000

•   

•   

•   

•   

•   

 

b. Comment on the effectiveness of Lormis's current quality efforts. On which COQ category should the company concentrate its efforts? Why?

 

• The company is currently spending the least amount on prevention activities.

• In order to reduce its overall quality costs, the company should concentrate its efforts on prevention because these activities reduce or eliminate poor quality and their associated costs in appraisal, internal failures, and external failures.

• As its first goal, Lormis should eliminate external failures, which may require a short-run increase in appraisal costs.

 

*Instructor's note: Expect some debate over classifications. For example, some may believe internal failure costs include only rejects and rework (thus, scrap is an appraisal cost). And some may have experiences with internal audit departments conducting “quality audits” to identify prevention improvements. We believe the classification criterion is asking “why” a cost was incurred. For example, retesting rework is an internal failure cost (not an appraisal cost simply because it involves inspection). If Lormis did not have rework (an internal failure cost), it would not have to be retested.

 

 

P5. KO2: Prepare a COQ report.

 

Using the budgeted and actual quality costs for the Baere Manufacturing, prepare a COQ report.

 

Activity

Budget

Actual

Materials inspection

$25,000

$30,000

Rework subassemblies

50,000

40,000

Warranty work

100,000

100,000

Lost sales and customers

200,000

220,000

Training

35,000

40,000

Customer complaint resolution

40,000

30,000

Rework finished products

70,000

85,000

Final inspection

25,000

30,000

Employee quality incentive rewards

35,000

40,000

Materials scrapped due to poor quality

20,000

30,000

Test equipment

50,000

60,000

New equipment to improve quality

75,000

80,000

Retesting rework

10,000

15,000

Product liability insurance

20,000

20,000

Supplier technical support

30,000

25,000

Preventive maintenance

60,000

55,000

(continued)

 

Instructor's note: Expect some debate over classifications. For example, some may believe internal failure costs include only rejects and rework (thus, scrap is an appraisal cost). We believe the classification criterion is asking “why” a cost was incurred. For example, retesting rework is an internal failure cost (not an appraisal cost simply because it involves inspection). If Baere did not have rework (an internal failure cost), it would not have to be retested.

P6. KO3: Identifying value-adding and nonvalue-adding activities. The Madison Company produces lawnmower handles for several large manufacturers. The controller has just returned from an IMA conference on continuous improvement, and asks you to classify the following activities as value adding or nonvalue adding.

 

Indicate and justify your classifications.

 

Production activity

Classification/explanation

1. Materials receiving

NVA

Assuming outsourcing materials and components is a better alternative than making them, materials will have to be received from suppliers. Thus, this adds value and we should develop methods to make it as efficient as possible (e.g., JIT delivery to production cells or departments).

2. Materials inspection

NVA

Materials should be defect-free, thus, inspections should not be needed.

3. Storage

NVA

Materials should be received only when needed. This can be accomplished through strategic partnering.

4. Bending

VA

Unless materials and components can be received from suppliers already bent to specifications, this is a necessary activity in making the product.

5. Machining

VA

Unless materials and components can be received already machined to specifications, this is a necessary activity in making the product.

6. Assembly

VA

Necessary in making the product.

7. Spot welding

VA

Necessary in making the product, given the current technology. (Perhaps, though, another technology can be developed to hold components together, which is less expensive than welding. Then, is this activity still adding value?)

8. Polishing

VA

Customers want a pretty product.

 

 

 

 

(continued)

9. Quality inspection

NVA

Through quality improvement programs, materials and WIP no longer may need to be inspected (process inspection). However, customers may still want the final product to be tested to make sure it works right (conformance quality).

10. Packing

VA

Customers do not want damaged products. (If a way can be developed to deliver products without packaging them, this is NVA).

11. Finished goods storage

NVA

Customer lead time should be greater than or equal to total lead time.

12. Shipping

NVA

If there is value in location this will be VA.

 

 

P7. KO3: Identifying value-adding and nonvalue-adding activities. The Tailor Shop makes fine dress pants for men and women by taking orders over the Internet and shipping the finished garments to its customers. An internal value chain analysis lists the following activities in making a custom pair of pants.

 

Classify the activities as value adding or nonvalue adding. Justify your classifications.

 

Activities

Classification/explanation

1. Receive customer order with measurements

VA

The customers are buying a custom product. This is related to the form and design of the product. Usually would be considered a NVA.

2. Order cloth

NVA

Without the cloth, pants cannot be made. No change in form.

3. Schedule labor

NVA

Without the seamstress, pants cannot be made. No change in form.

4. Receive materials

NVA

Without the cloth, pants cannot be made. No change in form.

5. Inspect materials

NVA

With proper supplier relationships, materials should not need to be inspected.

6. Measure and arrange materials

NVA

Unless the supplier can provide precut material based on the customer order, this is necessary. No change in form.

7. Cut material

VA

Unless the supplier can provide precut material based on the customer order, this is necessary.

8. Stitch pant pieces together

VA

Necessary from the customer's perspective.

9. Inspect pants

NVA

If pants are made properly, only a final quality inspection may be needed.

10. Install zipper

VA

Some customers believe this is necessary.

11. Sew on pockets and belt loops

VA

Necessary.

12. Place logo on pant pockets

NVA

Does the customer desire the logo? If not, it's NVA. If yes then it is VA.

13. Quality inspection

NVA

The customer wants a final inspection before the product is delivered. No change in form.

14. Iron pants

VA

Customer expects this.

15. Package in plastic

VA

The customer expects pants to be ironed, wrapped in plastic, boxed, and delivered if not then this is NVA

16. Box pants

VA

See #15 answer.

17. Ship pants

NVA

No change in form.

 


Chapter 12

 

P3. KO1: Identifying and eliminating a constraint. Marie and Jean mail product samples from their home to customers requesting them from the merchandiser. The merchandiser receives the requests and sends them with big boxes of product samples to Marie and Jean. Jean types mailing labels (at a rate of 50 per hour). Marie opens the big sample boxes and picks the particular samples each customer wants, placing them in a little box to be mailed to the customer. This takes about 10 minutes per customer request. Jean then inspects each box, seals it, and places the mailing label on it. She can complete each customer box in about 5 minutes.

 

How can Marie and Jean increase their throughput by using TOC's five continuous improvement steps?

 

Step 1: Identify the constraint.

Constraint is

Mailing labels = 50 per hour

Packing = 6 per hour

Sealing = 12 per hour

 

Step 2: Exploit the constraint.

When Jean finishes typing labels, she can help Marie.

 

Step 3: Focus on the constraint.

Don't worry about typing labels or sealing customer packages.

 

Step 4: Eliminate the constraint.

•  Redesign the workspace to make picking individual samples faster.

•  Hire someone to help Marie.

 

Step 5: Move to the next constraint.

How can sealing be done more efficiently? Can inspection be eliminated?

 

 

P4. KO2: Preparing tax forms at a CPA firm. 1040 O.K. specializes in tax return preparation for individuals, sole proprietors, and partnerships. It charges $250 for an individual return, which incurs $10 in materials and $100 in preparation time. $500 is charged for sole proprietor returns, which cost $20 in materials and $300 in labor. Partnership returns are billed at $1,000, costing $50 in materials and $600 in preparation labor. April 15th is fast approaching, and the firm has more work than time. The real constraint is with the partner's time in reviewing the returns. She needs 2 hours for an individual return, 5 hours for a sole proprietorship, and 10 hours for a partnership return.

 

(continued)


Respond to the following question and directives.

 

a. In which order should the returns be completed using a traditional contribution margin approach?

 

 

b. Calculate the contribution margin per return using TOC. Set the priorities for completing returns based on throughput.

 

 

 

P5. KO2: Scheduling priorities with TOC. Town and Country Nursery mixes two types of a fertilizer-weed control for home gardening. Both the Mountain Mix and the Valley Mix are sold in 50 lb. plastic containers. Mountain Mix is 75% BFG and 25% Weed Death. Valley Mix is half BFG and half Weed Death. The person who does the mixing can prepare Mountain Mix in 3 minutes and Valley Mix in 5 minutes. However, he has been called to jury duty and does not have enough time to fill all pending orders. Information about each product includes:

 

Direct Costs:

$2.50 per pound of Weed Death mix

$1.50 per pound of BFG growth compound

$4.00 per plastic container

$0.50 per adhesive label for the container

$12.00 per hour for the laborer's time

 

Indirect Costs:

$10,000 per month for utilities

$20,000 per month in salaries

$12,000 per month in other fixed operating costs

$14,000 per month for depreciation

 

Sales Prices:

$125.00 per container for Mountain Mix

$145.00 per container for Valley Mix

 

 

Determine which product should be mixed first.

 

Mountain Mix

Sales price

 

 

 

$125.00

Less: costs

 

 

 

 

Weed Death

$2.50/lb. × 12½ lbs/unit

=

$31.25

 

BFG

$1.50/lb. × 37½ lbs/unit

=

56.25

 

Container

 

 

4.00

 

Label

 

 

0.50

 

Cost per container

 

$92.00

($92.00)

 

 

 

 

CMU

 

 

 

$33.00

÷ Mixing time (minutes)

 

 

÷ 3

Throughput per mixing minute

 

 

 

$11.00

 

Valley Mix

Sales price

 

 

 

$145.00

Less: costs

 

 

 

 

Weed Death

$2.50/lb. × 25 lbs/unit

=

$62.50

 

BFG

$1.50/lb. × 25 lbs/unit

=

37.50

 

Container

 

 

4.00

 

Label

 

 

0.50

 

Cost per container

 

 

$104.50

($104.50)

 

 

 

 

 

CMU

 

 

 

$40.50

÷ Mixing time (minutes)

 

 

÷ 5

Throughput per mixing minute

 

 

$8.10

 

Mountain Mix should be prepared before Valley Mix as it has the greater throughput per mixing minute (the constraint).

 

P11. KO4. Make or buy. Moondollar Coffee just bought a new coffee machine. The machine is heavily automated. The beans are stored in six different containers on the machine. The bean containers hold the following beans: House Blend, Antigua , Kenya , Kona, Maragogype, and Tarrazu. The machine grinds the beans and fills the coffee grounds baskets before brewing.

 

The following sequential activities have been identified in Moondollar's value chain.

 

Raw Bean Storage: The counter workers refill the bean containers when they contain 75% of the original volume. Each canister is designed to hold enough coffee for 24 carafes. Because of the location and size of the coffee bean bags, this is a quick and simple activity with no capacity concerns.

 

Heating: Water pipes are connected to the inputs and water is pumped to the heating coils. Water is heated to the ideal brewing temperature and then dripped over the grounds. The supply of heated water is unlimited.

 

Grinding: The grinding function fills a basket in 3 minutes. It can only grind one type of bean at a time. Because high speed grinding can effect the flavor, Moondollar sets the grinding speed at the slowest setting. Each basket produces a fresh 12-cup carafe of coffee.

 

Brew and Clean: The drip process fills a fresh 12-cup carafe in 10 minutes and then must be cleaned for the next batch. The cleaning process takes approximately 5 minutes. Six separate carafes can be made at the same time. The counter workers empty and clean the baskets and replace the paper filter after each type of coffee is brewed.

 

Coffee Storage: The brewed coffee is poured into and stored in six heavily insulated 48-cup canisters by the counter workers. Fresh coffee is a critical success factor that differentiates Moondollar's product. Therefore, there is a strict policy to depose of any coffee in storage after one hour.

 

Demand: The customer traffic at Moondollar fluctuates heavily. The highest traffic is from 7-9:00 a.m. on Monday-Friday. The manager turns the machine on at 6:30 a.m. so that the beans are ground and the coffee is brewed and then ready to serve at 7:00 a.m. The manager estimates the morning demand at 180 customers per hour who purchase on average 1.5 cups of coffee.

 

Answer the following questions.

 

a. Moondollar's manager wants to know if he should buy a second coffee machine that is one half the size of the current machine, and produces 3 carafes of coffee at the same rate of speed as the 6-carafe version. For significantly less money the manager could buy a second grinding unit that would increase the grinding capacity by 25%. Does Moondollar need to purchase a new coffee machine and/or the second grinder in order to service the morning rush? If the company needs a new machine, which type should the manager buy? (Hint: Since fresh coffee is a trademark of Moondollar, any unused coffee in the canisters is drained after 60 minutes. Consequently, when finding the constraint convert each activity to its capacity in cups of coffee per hour.)

 

1. Heating.

No constraint because this is an unlimited supply.

2. Grinding.

3 minutes per basket = 20 baskets ground each 60 minutes

x 12 cups

240 cups per hour

3. Brewing & Cleaning

6 carafes @ 12 cups each = 72 cups each cycle

10 minutes brewing + 5 minutes cleaning for 4 cycles per hour

This yields 4 ´ 72 cups or 288 cups per hour.

4. Storage.

6 canisters ´ 48 cups = 288 cups per hour

5. Demand

Customer demand = 180 customers ´ 1.5 cups = 270 cups/hour

 

Grinding at 240 cups per hour is the constraint.

 

The 6-carafe coffee machine brewing production level is in excess of customer demand, but the grinding function is the binding constraint. The second grinder will increase capacity by 25% or 60 more cups per hour. This converts to 300 cups per hour.

 

(continued)


b. After purchasing the new equipment which factor is the binding constraint?

 

Since all of the constraints exceed consumer demand one could argue that the binding constraint is demand.

 

I 1. KO 1 and 4. Finding the constraint and continuous improvement. Apple, Jack and Harry are in business together. Apple picks and ships apples to Jack who distills them into a delightful nonalcoholic beverage. Harry sells the beverage from his juice bar. Apple can pack and ship 50 cases of apples a day. Jack makes 300 gallons of beverage per day. Harry sells 1,600 gallons per week, but is closed Sundays. One case makes 8 gallons of beverage. Everyone but Harry can work seven days a week.

 

Answer the following questions.

 

a. Which process is the constraint?

 

Harry's process is the constraint at 1,600 gallons per week.

 

Apple

50 cases ´ 8 gallons ´ 7 days =

2,800 gallons/week

Jack

300 gallons per day ´ 7 days =

2,100 gallons/week

Harry

 

1,600 gallons/week

 

b. Harry sells the beverage for $20 a gallon. Jack's cost, all fixed not including materials (apples), average $10 per gallon. Apple's costs are fixed at $500 per week plus $2 per case of apples for packing materials (or $.25 per gallon). Apple can increase production by 50 cases a week by increasing his fixed costs by $200. If Apple increases his fixed costs by $200, what will happen to the overall profits of the business?

 

Increasing Apple's capacity would not add to the throughput, but the added $200 would reduce profits.

 

c. A seminar in TQM is expected to increase productivity by 10%. Who would you send?

 

Send the person whose activity is the constraint. Harry's new capacity is 1.1 ´ 1,600 gallons = 1,760 gallons.


d. What is the maximum money you would pay for a TQM course that improved productivity by 10%? You can send one, two, or all three. You must recover your investment in 30 weeks. Harry sells the beverage for $20 a gallon. Jack's cost, all fixed not including materials (apples), are $10 per gallon. Apple's costs are fixed at $500 per week plus $2 per case of apples for packing materials (or $.25 per gallon). Assume there is no alternative market for apples used for cider.

 

Since the 10% increase would still leave Harry the constraint (1760 gallons) only send Harry. Value of the increased throughput is ($20 - $.25) ´ .1 ´ 1,600 gallons, or $3,160 per week. Total increase in throughput in the thirty-week payback period is $94,800 (30 ´ $3,160). Thus, we would be willing to pay up to $94,800 for a TQM course.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

last updated: 01/01/2003
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