ABOUT THE JUDGES

Today's judges are the members of Hub New Music Michael Avitabile - Gleb Kanasevich Magnolia Rohrer- Hannah Rumora

Called "contemporary chamber trailblazers" by the *Boston Globe*, **Hub New Music** is a "prime mover of piping hot 21st century repertoire" (*Washington Post*). Founded in 2013, the Detroit-based ensemble has commissioned dozens of new works for its distinctive ensemble of flute, clarinet, violin, and cello. Hub's "nimble quartet of winds and strings" (*NPR*) actively collaborates with today's most celebrated composers on projects that traverse today's rich musical landscape.

Hub New Music's recordings have garnered consistent acclaim. In 2022, Hub recorded Carlos Simon's *Requiem for the Enslaved* (Decca Classics), which was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Classical Composition. This season, Hub releases its fourth album, "a distance, intertwined" with Silkroad's Kojiro Umezaki (shakuhachi) and the Asia-America New Music Institute on In a Circle Records. Hub's debut album, "Soul House", released on New Amsterdam Records, was called "ingenious and unequivocally gorgeous" (*Boston Globe*) and "intensely poignant." (*Textura*)

As educators, Hub is dedicated to empowering future generations of artists. The ensemble was recently in residence with the Los Angeles Philharmonic's Nancy and Barry Sanders Composer Fellowship program, working with 10 outstanding high school aged composers. Hub has been guests at leading institutions such as Princeton, University of Michigan, University of Texas, CCM, University of Southern California, and Indiana University.

THE 47th ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF NEW AMERICAN MUSIC

STUDENT PERFORMERS COMPETITION

MONDAY, OCTOBER 28, 4:00 P.M.

Distractions (2023) Jensen L. Thomassie (b. 2001)

Justin Respicio, percussion

Rhapsody No. 1 for Solo Jessie Montgomery (b. 1981) Violin (2014)

Paolo Reyes, violin

Isle of the Sky (2018) Michael Iorio (b. 1993)

Kiele Miyata, flute - Trisha Pangan-Kennedy, marimba

The Sunflowers (1999/2021) Lori Laitman (b. 1955)

Zoë García, soprano

Lukas' Lexicon (2021) Francisco Perez (b. 1990)

Leslie Vazquez, marimba

Suite for Prepared Vibraphone (2010) Von Hansen (b. 1984)

I. Oblique

III. Incessant

Evan French, vibraphone

STOMP (2010) John Corgliano (b. 1938)

Joan Shalit, violin

A Lucky Child (2005) Jake Heggie (b. 1961)

Brianna Brock, soprano

The Ivy-Wife (2003) Ben Moore (b. 1960)

Valerie Simonson, soprano