ADMISSIONS
SHADOW DAY
Hello Music Student! The Sacramento State School of Music would like to invite you to visit its vibrant music scene by “shadowing” a music major for a day. This is a wonderful opportunity to accompany a music student as they attend lessons, classes, and rehearsals.
  • Along with your “shadow” partner, attend classes in music history, theory, piano, opera theater, music education, and conducting, to name just a few.
  • Join in on rehearsals with any of our dynamic performing ensembles: choirs, bands, orchestra, jazz ensembles, baroque ensemble, student chamber groups, or just relax and enjoy listening.
  • Observe a private lesson or listen to a repertoire class and hear selected students perform.
  • Enjoy chatting with music professors, the chairman of our department, and our admissions counselor for advice and answers to your questions.
  • Have the chance to ask current students what life is like on campus, and find out for yourself what challenges and rewards await a music major at Sac State.
Don’t miss this unique opportunity to get first-hand information! To schedule the date of your visit and to arrange for your “shadow day” student host, simply call or email the professor who represents your area of interest:

Orchestra/Strings
Professor Andrew Luchansky
aluchansky@csus.edu
(916) 278-7985
Bands/Woodwinds
Dr. Robert Halseth
halseth@saclink.csus.edu
(916) 278-5091
Choral Studies
Dr. Donald Kendrick
kendrick@saclink.csus.edu
(916) 278-6805
Brass/Jazz Studies
Dr. Steve Roach
roach@csus.edu
(916) 278-7987
Voice/Opera
Dr. Robin Fisher
rfisher@csus.edu
(916) 278-7990
Piano/Harpsichord
Dr. Lorna Peters
lgp@saclink.csus.edu
(916) 278-7992
Guitar (Classical)
Dr. Richard Savino
conos1@gmail.com
(916) 278-7978
Percussion
Dr. Daniel Kennedy
danken@csus.edu
(916) 278-7988
Theory/Composition
Dr. Stephen Blumberg
blumberg@csus.edu
(916) 278-7497
For more information, please email, write or call:
Sacramento State School of Music
ATTN: Mark Allen, Music Admissions Counselor
6000 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95819-6015
(916) 278-6543