Academic Policies Committee (APC)

Committee Info

Committee Chair:
Sue Escobar 

Meetings: 1st and 3rd Fridays, 
2:00 - 3:30 pm

Committee Membership
2017-18 Agendas & Minutes
• Archives

Academic Policies Committee Standing Rules

The Academic Policies Committee is a standing Policy Committee of the Faculty Senate, responsible for the development of policy and oversight of academic standards at California State University, Sacramento. 


  1. Acts as a consultative and deliberative body of the Faculty Senate.
  2. Responsible for the development, review and revision of policies related to and affecting undergraduate student progress to degree (both undergraduate and graduate) or to program completion.
  3. Oversees a wide range of policies that govern the nexus between the University’s Academic Affairs and Student Affairs.
  4. Reviews and makes recommendations on policies pertaining to: Admission standards, University and program impaction, student academic standing (i.e., definitions of good standing, probation, continued probation, disqualification, dismissal, reinstatement and readmission after dismissal); student honors and awards; satisfactory progress standards; definition of grading symbols; add, drop, and repeat policies; academic honesty, policies and procedures; academic program access for students with disabilities; student grade appeal policy and process; student grievance procedures; student rights and responsibilities; student academic advising policies; enrollment management policies (e.g., registration limitations); and academic support programs and programs/initiatives designed to improve student retention and graduation rates.
  5. Supervises generally the work of its subcommittees and may refer, remove or receive from them matters that require reconsideration of policies pertaining to Academic Affairs or Student Affairs.


A. Voting Members

Eleven 11 faculty members appointed by the Faculty Senate. No more than two members may be from a single college and but no two members may be from the same department/unit. Every effort shall be made to encourage membership from each college

  1. Ten College-based faculty members; and
  2. One faculty member from the Library or Student Services Professionals-Academically Related units.

B. Non-Voting/Ex-Officio Members

  1. One staff member appointed by the University Staff Assembly;
  2. One undergraduate student appointed by Associated Students, Inc.;
  3. One graduate student appointed by Associate Students, Inc.;
  4. Associate Vice President for Enrollment and Student Services*;
  5. Associate Vice President, Student Retention and Academic Success*;
  6. Dean of Undergraduate Studies*;
  7. University Registrar*;
  8. Director, Academic Advising and Career Center*;
  9. The Faculty Senate Chair; and
  10. Vice President for Academic Affairs or designee.

*Administrative positions are appointed by the President or their designee.

Additional Ex-Officio membership may be recommended by the Committee, the Executive Committee, or the President or their designee.

C. Term

  1. The term of appointment for faculty representatives shall be for three years, with the possibility of reappointment. Appointments will be staggered to ensure that approximately one-third of the faculty members are appointed each year.
  2. The term of the non-voting / ex-officio members will be one-year except for the University Staff Assembly representative who will serve a two year term.


  1. Chair
    1. The Chair shall be elected annually by the Faculty Senate as described in the By-Laws of the Faculty Senate. The Committee Chair shall be included in the count of the eleven voting members.
    2. The term of office of the Committee Chair shall be one year. The term shall begin at noon on the last day of the spring semester in which elected Chair and shall end at noon on the last day of the spring semester of the following year.
    3. A faculty member may be elected to serve up to three consecutive terms of one year each as the Chair of the Committee. After an interval of a year following the end of the third consecutive term, the faculty member shall become eligible again for election to the Chair of the Committee.
    4. The Chair shall also serve as an ex-officio non-voting member of the Faculty Senate, unless concurrently serving as the elected representative his or her department/unit.
    5. The Chair shall also serve as an ex-officio voting member of the Executive Committee.
  2. Vice-Chair
    1. At its first meeting of the academic year, the Committee shall elect, from among its voting membership, a Vice-Chair and any other committee officers deemed appropriate.
    2. The term of office of the Vice-Chair shall be one academic year. The term shall begin upon election of the Vice-Chair at the first committee meeting of the year and shall end at noon on the last day of the spring semester of the academic year.
    3. The Vice-Chair shall preside over the routine business of the Committee in the absence of the Committee Chair or, should the office of the Chair become vacant, until the election of a new Committee Chair. The Vice Chair shall not serve as an ex-officio member of the Senate or its Executive Committee.

Subcommittees that Report to the Academic Policies Committee

Liaisons to Senate and Campus Committees

  1. The Committee shall appoint one of its voting members to serve as liaison between itself and each of its committees/subcommittees.
  2. The Committee may request the appointment of liaisons to other Senate and University committees, task forces, or work groups as needed.


  1. The Committee shall work in close coordination with other Faculty Senate Policy Committees and other Senate and University committees/subcommittees in the performance of its duties.
  2. Issues considered by the Committee may be referred as well by the Executive Committee to any of the other committees of the Faculty Senate. The Committee may similarly refer issues to other Senate committees through the Executive Committee.

Committee Meetings

  1. The Committee shall meet at least once a month at a designated time and place.
  2. Committee meetings shall be open.
  3. The meeting agenda and supporting documentation shall be distributed to Committee members at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.
  4. Committee agendas will be published and made accessible to the campus community at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.
  5. A quorum of the Committee shall be a majority of voting members. The Committee shall not officially take action in the absence of a quorum.

Adoption of Standing Rules

  • FS 15/16-79/APC/EX: Adopted December 3, 2015
  • FS 11-12/101/SEL: Adopted May 10, 2012
  • FS 09-11A/EX: Adopted February 26, 2009
  • FS 94-98B: Adopted December 1, 1994