



FACULTY SENATE MEETING

November 6, 2014, 3:00 pm

Foothill Suite, University Union (*Updated: November 5, 2014*)

Call to Order

Moment of Silence

Renee Lima-Pojol Student, College of Business

Open Forum

Consistent with FS 08-43/EX (October 2008) the open forum is a time when any member of the campus community can address the Senate on any issue not included in the Senate agenda for that meeting. Persons wishing to utilize the open forum are encouraged to notify the senate chair of such intent at least 24 hours prior to the Senate meeting, indicating the topic to be addressed. Presentations at the open forum shall be limited to no more than 3 minutes. Issues raised during the open forum may be placed on the agenda as first reading items at the time the agenda is approved.

Approval of the Agenda

Information

FYIs:

President's Action Memos – Senate Actions of:
 October 2, 2014: Attachment: FS 14/15-63
 October 16, 2014: Attachment: FS 14/15-64

Consent Action

FS 14/15-67/EX Senate Committee

Wang Family Excellence Award Subcommittee

The Faculty Senate approves the appointment of the following faculty members to the Wang Family Excellence Award Subcommittee.

- Dale Ainsworth, Kinesiology & Health Science (HHS) Term: 2014-2017
- James DeShaw Rae, Government (SSIS) Term: 2014-2017
- Nuriddin Ikromov, Finance (CBA) Term: 2014-2017
- Ravin Pan, Undergraduate Studies in Education (EDU) Term: 2014-2017
- Laurel Zucker, Music (A&L) Term: 2014-2017

FS 14/15-68/EX Senate Committee Readmission Subcommittee

The Faculty Senate approves the appointment of the following faculty member to the Readmission Subcommittee.

Cindi Sturtz Sreetharan, Anthropology (SSIS) – Term: 2014-2017

FS 14/15-69/EX Senate Committee Student Retention and Graduation Subcommittee

The Faculty Senate approves the appointment of the following faculty member to the Student Retention and Graduation Subcommittee.

Jing Pang, Electrical and Electronic Engineering (ECS) – Term: 2014-2017

FS 14/15-70/EX Senate Committee Pedagogy Enhancement Awards Subcommittee

The Faculty Senate approves the appointment of the following faculty members to the Pedagogy Enhancement Awards Subcommittee.

- Phillip Akutsu, Psychology (SSIS) Term: November 1 December, 31, 2014
- Tanya Altman, Nursing (HHS) Term: 2014-2016

FS 14/15-71/EX University Committee Diversity Awards Committee

The Faculty Senate approves the appointment of the following faculty member to the Diversity Awards Committee.

■ Joseph Palermo, History (A&L) – Term: 2014-2016

FS 14/15-72/EX Senate Committee Faculty Endowment for Student Scholarships Committee

- David Mandeville, Kinesiology and Health Science (HHS)
 Term: November and December 2014
- Philip Flickinger, Theatre and Dance (A&L) Term: 2014-2015

Regular Agenda

FS 14/15-62/FL Minutes – October 16, 2014

The Faculty Senate approves the meeting minutes of October 16, 2014.

First Reading

FS 14/15-65/EX Elections Committee Charge and Membership, Revision of AS 86-62

The Faculty Senate approves the revisions to the charge and membership of the Elections Committee.

Transmittal Document: Attachment FS 14/15-65a

FS 14/15-66/AITC/EX Academic Information Technology Committee Charge and Membership, Revision of FS 02-81/EX and FS 04-51/AITC

The Faculty Senate approves the revisions to the Academic Information Technology Committee charge and membership.

Transmittal Document: Attachment FS 14/15-66a

FS 14/15-73/GSPC/EX Graduate Studies Policies Committee Charge and Membership, Revision of FS 11/12-100/SEL

The Faculty Senate approves the revisions to the Graduate Studies Policies Committee charge and membership.

Transmittal Document: Attachment FS 14/15-73a

FS 14/15-74/CODE/EX Committee on Diversity and Equity Charge and Membership, Revision of FS 99-108

The Faculty Senate approves the revision to the Committee on Diversity and Equity charge and membership.

Transmittal Document: Attachment FS 14/15-74a